Does the Internet Overwhelm You?

We all use the internet. In today’s age, there is no way to escape the world wide web. Like everyone else, I also reach out to the internet atleast 10000 times a day. What to cook, how to manage your child, how to become friends with your toxic mother-in-law, how to save a dying spider plant, what was the menu of the Ambani pre-wedding, cheapest flights to Kolkata, how to make more money, how to buy bitcoin, am I a reincarnate, the list is endless and often bizarre. I am sure even Google frowns at my diabolical, eccentric, and sometimes cuter than a teddy bear search history. Just look at my recent Google Search

I mean why am I bothered about who paid for Diana’s wedding? mujhe ja ke paisa wassoli thodi na karna hai? phir bhi I searched. Branded stuff are definitely waste of money for middle class people like us, because grapes are sour. I really can’t afford a Jimmy Choo or LV. So my mantra is by default “simplicity is the ultimate sophistication”, and that is also a jibe at the Ambani pre-wedding which was nowhere close to simple. By the way, do watch Laapaata Ladies, it is hilarious.

Even though, I depend heavily on Google, Pinterest, and Youtube for any kind of learning these days, things can get overwhelming. Back in the days, I used to read books to gain knowledge, now I read internet articles, and listen to podcasts. However, the challenge is that books took longer to read but I can learn the same thing in one hour by listening to a podcast or watching a video. This accessibility has kind of created a “too many cooks spoil the broth” kind of situation.

Sometimes the internet says wealth is good, sometimes Marie Kondo comes and says practice minimalism. Somewhere I read intermittent fasting is good, elsewhere it is bad. The situation gets worse during illnesses. Internet infers every disease as cancer. So, I am eternally living in the fear of carcenoma whenever I get anything from headache to toothache. Internet has given me so many insecurities, for example, do you also read those articles that says “Signs that…..”. So I have read zillion articles on Signs that he loves you, signs that he doesn’t love you, signs that you are turning bald, signs that you are poor, signs that you were adopted, signs that you are unsuccessful in your career, signs that you have irritable bowel syndrome, etc etc. So after reading all these signs, I am convinced that Doomsday is nearing, AI will take over everything, the rich to escape to Mars and we will turn zombies.

Tell me, does the internet overwhelm you as well? what does your search history look like? What is the most bizarre thing that you have searched on the internet?

3 thoughts on “Does the Internet Overwhelm You?

      • Holly Jahangiri says:

        “What is the most bizarre thing that you have searched on the internet?” I’m a writer. You probably don’t want to know, and I don’t even remember, now – there have been so many “bizarre things.” Recently? “sheep lying on back,” and “overconfident professionals kahneman quotes,” and “what does a wrench light and a 1 on a 2013 honda accord mean?” There’s really no particular theme or organization to it, though. Just when Google or Bing think they know me, I’ll throw them a curve ball. “Figure THIS out, you AI monsters, you.” I’m pretty sure that in the past I’ve searched for images of what a body would look like after certain types of grisly accidents, what people suffering certain physical anomalies would look like, what a whale fetus looks like… and all of those will lead me down more weird rabbit holes. Try “fire ant aluminum casting” for fun. (Don’t spare a sympathetic thought for those tiny, stinging monstrosities, either – at least in Texas, they are demons sent straight from Hell, so I’m all for the “art.”)

        As for a name for going down the rabbit hole, try “information overload.” See also one of Bing’s early ads (14 years ago): https://youtu.be/i1AwFY6MuwE?si=RpCZU3vKZ6H–TSh

        Like

Did you like my post? Please let me know

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.